Nerds of the Round Table

For all things good and nerdy

A Rant on the Latest Battlestar Galactica Reboot

In August 2009 I reported that Bryan Singer was looking to make a new movie about Battlestar Galactica and that this movie would serve as yet another reboot to the BSG mythos.  Needless to say I railed against this proposed movie two years ago.  My core belief is that it is far too soon to be rebooting BSG, especially since the critically acclaimed TV show has only been off the air a few years.  Then we got lucky and Singer accepted the task of making a new film and the BSG reboot was put on the back-burner.  Sadly, Singer’s current film has been shut down and he has expressed an interest in returning to the BSG universe.

Details are starting to come out about the newest reboot to BSG and now it’s looking like they might try to connect this movie with the rebooted TV show’s universe.  Don’t get too excited yet though.  It has been learned that John Orloff will be writing the script for Bryan Singer and in an interview yesterday he let some information out about the possible plot.  According to Orloff:

I’m a huge fan of the original series and of the second show, too. But I always thought the first show was a little too heavily reliant on Star Wars, you know? Whereas I think the second show was really original and really cool.

And I think I’ve come up with a way to write this movie that won’t [frick] any of that up. I’m not sure how much they want me to talk about it. Let’s just say it’s not what you expect. It will all work in the universe that exists. It will not conflict with anything Ron Moore has done. I don’t think you can compete with what he’s done.

So what does this truly mean?  Are they going to keep the story that has been established by Ron Moore’s show?  It sounds like they might… assuming the quote above is something that is stuck too.  Part of me almost thinks this was said to try to quell the fanboy rage over this BSG reboot.

They want to keep the continuity established in Ron Moore’s show yet make something new with the characters.  The only way I can think of to do this is to take something from JJ Abrams playbook.  By that I mean, copy what he did in Star Trek and create an alternate timeline that has all of the same characters.  That way you can do whatever you want and claim not be changing the history of BSG.

Now, I’m wasn’t really a fan of the way in which Star Trek was rebooted but I cannot deny that it worked.  They threw out years of history and established characters to make a movie that had the same characters as the original Star Trek, but it never really felt like Star Trek.  That’s what I’m afraid will happen with this reboot of BSG.  To be fair fans of the original BSG TV show were probably saying the same things when Ron Moore’s reboot was about to debut.  But, there had been years since the last BSG TV show had aired and BSG simply was not relevant in the public anymore.  Ron Moore changed that with his reboot and made BSG relevant outside of nerd culture.   The show won Peabody Awards and critical acclaim.  That was something that could hardly be said about the original.

Ron Moore assembled an incredible cast to tell a fantastic story in the modern BSG.  To reboot the series again smacks of sweeping all of this epic story under the rug.  This still rubs me the wrong way.  I’m sure many other fanboys feel the same way; there were many of us who truly loved Ron Moore’s series.  The simple fact of the matter is that its way too soon to be rebooting Battlestar Galactica.  With the BSG prequel set to debut soon on Syfy Channel the story is still continuing.  However, in closing, it’s not really BSG unless Edward James Olmos is in it!

2 responses to “A Rant on the Latest Battlestar Galactica Reboot

  1. Tom Baker October 24, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    Chris, I’ll have to reserve my comments for when I actually see it. All I can say for now is I really hate, no hate is not strong enough – abhor the SyFy channel. You would think the network is run by adults one day and children the next.

    • Chris October 25, 2011 at 12:28 pm

      I despise Syfy. My fear is that this movie will be shown in theaters which is a large audience. The last thing I want is my generation associating Singer’s BSG with the show from this time period. Ron Moore’s BSG is one of the best shows I have ever watched so it will be a hard sale to make me think it needs rebooted.

Leave a Reply

