Nerds of the Round Table

For all things good and nerdy

Amazing Fantasy #15 Sells for Big Bucks

If you read the site, you are bound to have realized that I am a huge fan of Spider-Man.  I have been since I was a little kid.  To be honest one of my dreams is to own an actual copy of Amazing Fantasy #15, better known as the Spider-Man’s debut.  I don’t even care about the condition the book is in, I just want to own it.

In 1962 Amazing Fantasy #15 sold for 12 cents.  If only I had a time machine I would go back and buy two copies.  One to lock away forever, and one to drool over.  Recently a near-mint copy of the book was put up for sale and sold for $1.1 million.  It turns out the book was CGC rated a 9.6!   The Associated Press even picked up this story and added:

A comic collector has been caught in Spider-Man’s web, paying $1.1 million for a near-mint copy of “Amazing Fantasy” No. 15 that features the wall-crawler’s debut.

ComicConnect.com chief executive Stephen Fishler told The Associated Press Tuesday that the Silver Age issue, first published in 1962, was sold Monday by a private seller to a private buyer.

It’s not the highest price ever paid for a comic book. That honor goes to Action Comics No. 1 with Superman on the cover, which went for $1.5 million. But Fishler says the price paid is the most for a Silver Age era book.

The cover shows Spider-Man clutching a villain in one arm and swinging from his web with the other. It originally sold for 12 cents.

All I can say is its awesome to see a Spider-Man book go for that much money.  It definitely proves that other people love the character as much as I do.  I have to say that I’m shocked this book was rated a CGC 9.6.  I wonder why its been stored or hidden since 1962.  To be in that good of shape it had to be hidden away or read once or twice.  If you don’t believe me about the 9.6 rating, here’s the picture provided by the AP.  Looks legit to me.

Now I just need to find a way to get my hands on a copy of Amazing Fantasy 15.  Hopefully it doesn’t cost me $1.1 million.  If I had that much money laying around though I think I might have paid that much for this book.

 

One response to “Amazing Fantasy #15 Sells for Big Bucks

  1. jesse March 11, 2013 at 9:15 am

    i have a copy and was wondering if they still are pretty expensive its been in a chest for 50 years with the other 14 issued of amazing fantasy you can contact me

Leave a Reply

