Nerds of the Round Table

For all things good and nerdy

The Dark Knight Rises With Selina Kyle and Bane

Warner Brothers issued a press release today giving some casting news for the 3rd Christopher Nolan Batman film entitles The Dark Knight Rises.  Tom Hardy will be added to the cast playing the role of Bane.  Bane is famously known for discovering Batman’s identity and then breaking Batman’s back in the 90s story-arc Knightfall.  I doubt that is what will happen in the 3rd movie, but Bane has the potential to challenge the Dark Knight both physically and mentally.  Tom Hardy played a big role in Nolan’s last film Inception.  I am one of about 4 people who still haven’t seen the movie so I can’t really comment on his work in Inception.  Credit for the Tom Hardy/Bane graphic goes to the folks over at Comic Book Movie.com.

The other news is that Anne Hathaway has been cast to play the role of Selina Kyle.  Please note that I wrote Selina Kyle and not Catwoman.  The press-release is very specific to not call her Catwoman.  It’s entirely possible that this film could end without Selina donning the trademark costume of Catwoman.  However, since this is Nolan’s last Batman film I find that unlikely.  I imagine the press-release is worded specifically to encourage speculation by the ravenous fanboys.  As for the casting of Anne Hathaway, it’s not what I was expecting when I heard that other actresses such as Keira Knightly and Rachel Weisz were in the running for the female lead.  I’m not disappointed, just surprised.

I fully admit I was hoping for The Riddler to be the main villain of the last Batman movie, but I trust Christopher Nolan to make another fantastic movie.  I’m not a big fan of Bane but I imagine Nolan’s take will keep him interesting and grounded in reality like the rest of Nolan’s Batman.  Below, is the press-release that came from Warner Bros earlier today.

BURBANK, CA, January 19, 2011 – Warner Bros. Pictures announced today that Anne Hathaway has been cast as Selina Kyle in Christopher Nolan’s “The Dark Knight Rises.” She will be starring alongside Christian Bale, who returns in the title role of Bruce Wayne/Batman.

Christopher Nolan stated, “I am thrilled to have the opportunity to work with Anne Hathaway, who will be a fantastic addition to our ensemble as we complete our story.”

In addition, Tom Hardy has been set to play Bane. Nolan said, “I am delighted to be working with Tom again and excited to watch him bring to life our new interpretation of one of Batman’s most formidable enemies.”

Nolan will direct the film from a screenplay he wrote with Jonathan Nolan, from a story by Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer. Nolan will also produce the film with his longtime producing partner, Emma Thomas, and Charles Roven.

“The Dark Knight Rises” is slated for release on July 20, 2012. The film will be distributed worldwide by Warner Bros. Pictures, a Warner Bros. Entertainment Company.

2 responses to “The Dark Knight Rises With Selina Kyle and Bane

  1. Tom Baker January 20, 2011 at 7:47 am

    I’m not a fan of Bane. I do like Kyle and Hathaway is an interesting choice. I think I like it. You are right that Nolan seems to make the right choices when making great Batman movies. I for one would not want Kiera.

    • Chris January 21, 2011 at 6:31 am

      I’m not a Bane fan, but I trust Christopher Nolan. I’m sure he’ll make Bane fit in correctly. Some people really hate the casting of Anne Hathaway, but I don’t think she was a bad pick.

Leave a Reply

