Nerds of the Round Table

For all things good and nerdy

Jack Bauer is Beaten

After the series finale of 24 many Jack Bauer fans were left with a cliffhanger.  What had happened to the hero, and would he be able to escape New York without being caught by the government he had served for many years.  A 24 movie was meant to showcase Jack’s life after the series had ended.

However, the long rumored 24 movie will not be making it to the big screen.  At least not yet.    Billy Ray, screenwriter for State of Play, submitted a script for a 24 movie to 20th Century Fox.  Sadly, the study did not approve the script and as such the plans for the movie are not going forward.  As stated on EW‘s site:

“As far as I know, it is in suspended animation,” Howard Gordon, the longtime executive producer of 24 who is also expected to produce the big screen version, told EW exclusively. ”There is talk about re-approaching it. I understand (director/producer) Tony Scott is meeting with Kiefer to talk about ideas. People are still talking about it.”

“I was disappointed [Fox] passed on the script but I’m certainly hopeful that the movie will get made at some point,” he said. “Anecdotally, I’ve heard from people who are really missing the show and I do think there is more life in Jack Bauer.”

I’m not really shocked by this news.  24s rating had tapered off near the end of its run.  I still enjoyed the show, but it was not near as good as I remembered the first couple seasons being.  I guess there really is so many times you can be surprised by Jack Bauer cheating death and saving the day.  I was also worried about how well 24 would translate to the big screen.  24 has always stuck with its gimmick of things occurring in real-time even during the TV movie.  I’m not sure how you would do a big screen conclusion of Jack’s story and keep  in realtime.  The movie would have to skip forward in time, and that just wouldn’t feel like 24.  There’s a part of me that hopes to see a resolution to Jack Bauer’s story, I just want to see it done right.  Hopefully we’ll get the chance to see that someday, and I hope Jack Bauer is still relevant in pop culture at that time.

Via: Entertainment Weekly

EDIT: Any chance to use this Jack Bauer picture just makes me smile.

2 responses to “Jack Bauer is Beaten

  1. Tom Baker January 5, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    Perhaps you are right about how well the 24 hours would translate into a 2 hour movie, but I’m still hopeful!

Leave a Reply

