Nerds of the Round Table

For all things good and nerdy

The Year in Review Part 1

Well folks we made it another year.  And its been a year filled with all sorts of interesting stories  and events.  I’d like to take a moment to highlight some of the things I’ll remember from 2010.  I’ve gone back through the archives and pulled the stories I’ve found most interesting.  Part 1 will cover January – June.  Part 2 will cover the remaining parts of 2010 and will be posted early tomorrow morning.

January: January marked the end of Conan O’Brien’s run on The Tonight Show.  Like many other young bloggers and 20 something year olds I came down firmly on Conan’s side on the entire debacle.  It makes me quite happy to see Conan doing so well with his new show on TBS.

January was also the long-awaited debut of Battlestar Galactica’s spin-off called Caprica.  We know how well this show turned out in the end, but in January there were many people, myself included, who had high hopes for the show.  There’s still 5 episodes left but sadly the story will remain largely unresolved.

Mass Effect 2 was released in January.  I think this was my favorite game to be released in 2010.  I’ve done multiple playthroughs with renegade and paragon characters.  Not many games can make me play them multiple times.  In fact it seems to be mostly BioWare games.

One of my biggest personal highlights of the month was being Tom Baker’s first guest blogger on his blog entitled Morning Erection.  Tom was gracious enough to post my article on why Battlestar Galactica was the best show on television.  I was quite the honor to be the first guest blogger for Tom and to this day I greatly appreciate the opportunity.  Thanks Tom!

In possibly the biggest news of the month Sony Pictures announced they were rebooting the highly successful Spider-Man franchise.  The intent was to bring everything back to the beginning and get a fresh start with new actors.  I’m still a little wary of this decision but I will give the producers credit that they have brought on a lot of quality actors.

February: We’ll start off February with all of the casting rumors that were floating around on who would play Captain America in the upcoming movie.  I threw out a few names… none of which ended up turning out in the end.  I’m happy with the casting of Chris Evans as Cap, but I still stand by the thought that Ryan McPartlin, aka Captain Awesome on Chuck, would have been a great Captain America.  Don’t believe me, check out the picture below.

Continuing on the comic book movie theme it was announced that Christopher Nolan was being brought on to oversee the upcoming Superman movie.  As I said in February, I Christopher Nolan will be the ‘Godfather’ of the picture.  Conspiracy theorists thought that Nolan would end up directing but he has stuck with directing the 3rd Batman film and given directorial responsibility on Superman to Zack Snyder.

This was also the month that I realized the NBC series Heroes had failed me.  I stuck with the show to cancellation despite my better judgement.  Sadly it was never able to recapture the greatness of season 1.  Just imagine how different things would have been if the writer’s strike hadn’t shortened season 2.

It was in February that Captain Phil Harris passed away.  Captain Phil was found for his part on Discovery Channel’s Deadliest Catch.  Phil allowed cameras to follow him through his ordeal which in turn lead to huge ratings for the Discovery Channel.

March: March was a big month for me to hype Iron Man 2.  One of my favorite posters for this movie was released in March.  Originally it was available only at WonderCon but has since been released to the public.  This poster featured Scarlett Johansson as the Black Widow.  I mean seriously I do love this poster and it has been the wallpaper on my phone since March.

This month I wrote a rant on how TV rating systems were killing TV shows and that it was taking extraordinary efforts to save shows from cancellation.  Networks were just beginning to embrace the internet as a method for delivering content.  Now I think things are getting a little better as shows are available streaming on sites such as Hulu and network web-sites.  DVRs are being factored into ratings and shows that were continually in trouble in the past, such as Chuck, are thriving now.

One of my favorite posts of the year came from this month.  Rumors were flying that SciFi Channel might be looking for another Battlestar Galactica spin-off.  I suggested that the first Cylon War would be the perfect setting for a spin-off series.  This series would follow a young William Adama through the war.  Fast forward a few months and we get the new mini-series Battlestar Galactica: Blood and Chrome that is basically what I had theorized.  I don’t like to pat myself on the back but I will on this one.  :p

April: This was a short month with only a few posts.  The biggest news was adding Nathan Fillion as the next member of The Man Series.  On Jimmy Kimmel’s show he affirmed his geek cred, There’s not many movie stars I know that want to get in a lightsaber duel with his neighbors… plus he’s Captain Mal.  How can he not be included?

May: The biggest news to me this month was first trailer for The Force Unleashed II hit the web.  The game looked like it would be fantastic picking up where the first one left off.  Fast forward a few months later and I was fairly disappointed by the game.

June: This is where the site went on hiatus for a little bit.  Looking at houses to buy and eventually moving in turned out to be rather time-consuming.  However the first trailer for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I came out this month.  Boy did it look good and in turn make me rather excited for the movie.  It turned out the movie was fantastic and the darkest out of all the Harry Potter movies.

Well folks, this concludes part of the year in review.  Looking back its pretty cool to see what all happened in just this 6 month span.  Its been pretty fun looking back and seeing what I thought was important.  It’s also been fun to see how wrong I was on some of my guesses.  Everyone stay safe tonight as you go out and celebrate the beginning of a New Year.  Thanks for stopping by the Nerds of the Round Table, and please come back tomorrow morning for part 2 of the year in review.

4 responses to “The Year in Review Part 1

  1. Tom Baker January 1, 2011 at 7:41 am

    This post pays great homage to your first six months in 2010. We (my site and I appreciate being mentioned). It was a crazy year in so many ways and you did a great job in keeping up with the entertainment/sci-fi aspects of it. I look forward to your next post and to what you have in store for 2011.

  2. Anorak January 1, 2011 at 9:54 am

    Really great review! Looking forward to part 2!

Leave a Reply

