Nerds of the Round Table

For all things good and nerdy

Hi. I’m the new girl.

Think of this as my nervous wave of Hello! I’m Jessica. I have a blog called One Nerdy Cupcake where I blog about random and nerdy things. Chris and I started talking through there, as I had started it originally to blog an episode by episode breakdown of Battlestar Galactica….which if your an avid reader of this blog, you’ll know Chris is quite the fan 😀

I was really actually start writing a few weeks ago, but I had a rough job working a lot of hours in front of a computer…blogging was the last thing on my mind. But I lost that job and now you get a happy blog post from me. Yay!

So I figure my first blog post should be something that I have been obsessing over for the past year.

Epic. Mickey.

For those of you who do not know the awesomeness of this Wii video game, it is all Old School Disney characters, centralizing around the obvious Mickey Mouse, and the not so obvious Oswald Rabbit. The Wizard (from Fantasia) has created a world for the characters that are no longer really around. The sketches show it as very steampunk-ish. Then Mickey went and screwed it up (as Mickey does.) I’m sure you can figure out the game from there…because I know you’re all smart cookies!

Don’t know who Oswald Rabbit is? He is essentially the big brother of Mickey. He looks like this:

Oswald!

Isn’t he cute?

I bought a Wii a year ago, in anticipation for this game. I have been waiting a year for this game.

And on Tuesday…it finally arrived.

I’m not a huge gamer…once upon a time I was, I had to let it go because it was cutting into my non-social life. And by non-social life, I realized how terrible I am at video games, and had to stop for my friends just completely made fun of my terrible ranking.

This is seriously the first new game since I bought the new Super Mario Brothers game.

I even bought the Collectors edition!

I’ve played for 2 days.

I’m stuck.

And this is what happens with every video game.

I have never finished a video game. I know the stories, I know what is supposed to happen. But I get stuck, I get angry, and then I stop playing.

I’m in the Colosseum. I keep dying. I keep watching walkthrough videos to see if I’m missing something. NOPE! I’m just an awesome video game idiot. So now instead of playing some more and trying to get better at this…I’m watching Lord of the Rings Extended edition and blogging about it.

Maybe one day I’ll get to be an awesome gamer. For now, I’ll be one of those gamers you hear about on the news…the ones who broke their TV because they threw the Wii remote at it because they can’t figure out how to use the wrist straps.

(For the record, I use the wrist straps. Being awesome like I am though, I’ll still probably wind up with the remote through the TV)

So tell me, fellow readers…what do you think I should write about? I like ideas!

6 responses to “Hi. I’m the new girl.

  1. Chris December 5, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Epic Mickey is one of the games that makes me wish I had kept my Wii. It looks like it should be lots of fun. I might have to mooch of one of my friends and play it at their house.

    Thanks for the great first post!

  2. Tom Baker December 6, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    Hello new girl! This is a great site and I know other readers of Nerds of the Round Table will appreciate you and what you have to offer. Chris is a great guy and I’m glad you are able to help out with the site. I’m not a gamer at all. The last game I played was Space Invaders about two years ago! I look forward to your posts.

    • One Nerdy Cupcake December 6, 2010 at 11:05 pm

      Thanks for the warm welcome! I don’t really call myself a gamer anymore…I did have to check out because I had to face the music that I really am just terrible at video games. I like the thought of them but I really am impatient and just get frustrated too easily. ^_^

  3. Pingback: Damnit Mickey! « One Nerdy Cupcake

  4. Pingback: The Year in Review Part 2 « Nerds of the Round Table

Leave a Reply

