Nerds of the Round Table

For all things good and nerdy

RIP Caprica

All but the most optimistic fans had to realize that Caprica was in danger this season, especially with the low ratings that steadily declined.  The show was more of a drama set in the BSG world than a continuation of what we had seen in BSG.  It took me a while to get into it, but when I did I really started to enjoy the show.  It had a smart plot that I found intriguing.  The only problem is that it built up so slowly.

Imagine my surprise today when I checked my Twitter feed and saw a new update from Bear McCreary the composer for both Battlestar Galactica and Caprica.

From what Bear is saying it looks like Caprica has indeed been cancelled.  Syfy executives were set to make a decision by November 15 as to whether the series would continue.  Since ratings have drastically fallen off it would seem the execs made their decision earlier than expected.  All I’ve seen so far is news from Bear McCreary, but he’s probably in a position to know better than most.  Hopefully the last 6 episodes are able to tie things up enough to close out the bulk of the plot.  I would hate to have a lot of loose ends when the series ends.  Lets also hope that Bear gets to do the score for BSG: Blood and Chrome too.  I can’t imagine a BSG without his music.

When I find out more, I’ll let you know.  Until then lets get ready for the end of Caprica.

Update: Looks like the cancellation is official.  TV Guide is reporting that Caprica has been cancelled and will not receive a second season.  In fact Syfy is pulling the remaining episodes from the schedule.  Syfy is going to air the remaining five episodes of Caprica in early 2011.  Basically this is going to screw this show of any chance of pulling anything out.  That and it really annoys me that halfway through this current run we have to wait for resolution.  Its not a good way to reward the loyal fans that tuned in each week to see what was happening on Caprica.  Thanks Syfy what are you going to do next to reward your viewers?

6 responses to “RIP Caprica

  1. briantudor November 1, 2010 at 11:14 am

    I can’t say I’m entirely sad Caprica was cancelled. They spent to much time focusing on the Soldiers of the One, when we all know they were not in power and not enough time on inventing Cylons. I’m looking forward to Blood and Chrome (even though I hate that title… Spartacus much?).

  2. Tom Baker November 4, 2010 at 7:13 am

    Chris, I am kind of numb on this one. I didn’t like Caprica but it would be nice to see the final episodes if the show was getting better. The programming at SyFy leaves a lot to be desired, especially their original movies. Sucky at best.

    • Chris November 7, 2010 at 11:06 am

      The show was getting better. I don’t understand why they can keep making craptastic movies but not support quality programming (at least in comparison).

  3. Delphia July 14, 2014 at 12:16 pm

    I see a lot of interesting articles on your page.
    You have to spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of time, there is a tool that creates unique, google
    friendly articles in couple of seconds, just type in google
    – k2 unlimited content

  4. weight loss January 7, 2015 at 1:35 am

    Interesting info you post on your blog, i have shared this post on my fb

Leave a Reply

