Nerds of the Round Table

For all things good and nerdy

Smallville Costume Evolution

I’ll be the first to admit that since this is Smallville’s last season I have been paying the show a good deal more attention. In fact, most of the recent blog posts probably reflect my renewed/heightened interest in the show. In all honesty, season 10 has already exceeded my expectations. It’s been fun and continued to grow Clark Kent into the man he will be when he dons the Superman suit. Life changing events, i.e. Homecoming, have started this shift and so has the costume change we saw in Shield (10×02).

As much as the Cat Grant character annoys me (which I realize she is meant to do) she was right about one thing. How are people supposed to trust these heroes that hide in the dark and cloak themselves in the shadows? One of the reasons Superman is so beloved is that he stands out and is recognizable. The mask-less costume and the bright colors that comprise his uniform make him very visible to the public. Meanwhile, the Blur is the exact opposite. The Blur kept to the shadows and prevented himself from being seen at nearly all times. Needless to say, this does not allow him to be viewed a friendly to the public. At the end of Shield, Clark has taken another step towards becoming Superman by creating a suit that allows him to stand out and not be as hidden from the people of Metropolis.

I’ll be honest I didn’t like the Matrixy Neo-like costume that Clark was wearing in season 9.  Or rather I didn’t like it at first.  Once I came to the realization that this was Clark’s first step as a costumed vigilante the costume grew on me.  Clark’s only exposure to the world of heroes has been people who hide in the shadows and aren’t easily viewable, so it only makes sense that his first costume would reflect this mindset.  If you don’t believe me look at Green Arrow.  He hides to the shadows and changes his voice so as not to be recognized.

I’m really hoping that the new costume grows on me like the black suit did.  Right now, I can honestly say that I am not a big fan of the new suit.  I do like the fact that Clark has finally begun adopting the traditional Superman colors.  However, the all red embossed leather jacket just doesn’t do it for me.  I think part of my dislike is that is a solid color and the House of El crest doesn’t stand out.  One of the things I liked about the black suit from the very beginning was that the silver House of El crest was easily viewable on the black t-shirt.

If a few changes were made to the new costume it would be much more palatable to me, and probably other fans.  I really think that something should be in place to break up all the red of the jacket, or maybe even make the jacket blue.  If the House of El crest were a different color and some color were added to the shoulders of the jacket.  When I was surfing the web the other night I found that some others had the same thought as I did and had posted some of their ideas online.  The concept below is what I think would be awesome for the current costume.  I’m going to dig through my history and try to find where I found it so I can credit the designer.

Honestly, I’m probably just nit-picking when it comes to the new costume.  It’s a step forward and continues to build Clark Kent up as the man who will be Superman.  The costume is changing, heck even Clark’s hair while in costume is starting to look like the traditional Superman hair style from the comics and movies.

Hopefully, this is the final costume evolution before Clark dons the costume everyone wants to see…

One response to “Smallville Costume Evolution

  1. Pingback: The Year in Review Part 2 « Nerds of the Round Table

Leave a Reply

