Nerds of the Round Table

For all things good and nerdy

Pirates of the Caribbean 4 News

Well folks, it seems as though we’ve gotten a few new tidbits of information about the upcoming 4th Pirates of the Caribbean movie.  While promoting Alice in Wonderland Johnny Depp confirmed that neither Orlando Bloom nor Keira Knightley would be appearing in the 4th movie of the blockbuster franchise.  Personally, I don’t think the lack of Bloom is a big deal however I will miss Keira Knightley’s Elizabeth Swan.  Also the lack of supporting characters gives me a little concern the movie might be too Captain Jack Sparrow centered.  Luckily Johnny Depp thinks otherwise.

“We’re coming at it from a different angle at this point, Rob Marshall and [a] totally new take, it’s a new story. I don’t think we’d ever throw too much Jack Sparrow in there. There will be a little bit of everybody.

Looks like the ensemble cast will get a chance to get some screen time.  In my opinion that’s a good thing.  I enjoy the Jack Sparrow character but in large doses it’s entirely possible he could get to be a little too over the top.  Luckily Depp will be supported by a few more actors in the film.  Geoffrey Rush has apparently signed on to repirse his role as Captain Barbossa, while Penelope Cruz will be playing a character new to the series.

But the big news for me is that Ian McShane is rumored to have signed on to the 4th Pirates movie.  He will be playing a pirate, specifically Edward Teach, better known as Blackbeard!  Anyone who has read the blog knows of my love of the late NBC show Kings and a good deal of that came from McShane’s portrayal of King Silas.  I bet you all are shocked I didn’t reference Deadwood there!  McShane is an incredible actor and will surely bring a scary as all hell pirate to the big screen.

McShane as Blackbeard?

2 responses to “Pirates of the Caribbean 4 News

  1. Tom Baker February 24, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Looking forward to this as well. I’m not a big fan of Cruz but I do like the franchise. I like Depp best when he’s not working with Tim Burton.

  2. Chris February 26, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    I’m not a big Cruz fan either. But I’m just looking forward to another Pirates movie. They’ve always been fun to watch.

Leave a Reply

