Nerds of the Round Table

For all things good and nerdy

How Heroes Failed Me

If you’ve kept up with the posts here you’ll notice that in the early days we talked a lot about Heroes.  I was quite optimistic coming into this season.  I thought, that Heroes might just be able to recapture the lightning in a bottle that was Season 1.  I’ll be the first to admit, that I was wrong.

Heroes season one was  great mystery that I wanted to figure out.  We didn’t know what everyone’s abilities were or how they were all going to become part of the overarching plot.  There were plot twists and turn that kept an audience engaged and on the edge of their seats.  Compare that to this season, we knew what Samuel wanted early on and there was no mystery.  Plot twists were for no reason other than to stretch the season out to its 19 episode run.

Anytime change occurred in the past it was only temporary before returning to the status quo.  Examples being the round-up of the powered people, the virus that was going to be unleashed.  Characters rarely changed and life changing events rarely stuck.  I’m sure that if Heroes continues for a 5th season they’ll find some way to cover up Clarie’s power reveal and return again to the status quo.

Evil Sylar

Sylar used to be an incredibly badass mysterious enemy that was a force to be reckoned with.  And now?  Now Sylar has flip-flopped and changed so many times you don’t believe that any change is going to be permanent.  We went from evil Sylar who wants all powers, to Sylar with no powers, to Sylar with mommy issues that works for the Company, to Sylar with a girl trying to be good, to Sylar being evil, and now Sylar is a hero.  In four seasons his character has had way too many dramatic character changes.

Peter used to have the greatest/coolest power.  They ability to capture and use any power.  I’ll be the first to admit that probably made him far too overpowered.  But to be honest the writers never had that problem.  Anytime Peter was about to turn into a competent hero that can do a great deal of good with his powers he was knocked back down into being the whiny emo kid.  The writers can change Sylar about a bazillion times but for some reason not Peter.  He always has to revert back to his status quo of basically being useless.  I could live with the depowering, I really could.  However the lack of character progression just annoyed me.

Future Hiro

Finally, there is the most egregious mistake, and that is the mishandling of Hiro.  I’ll be the first to admit that was something funny and enjoyable about the quirky nerdy Hiro we first met.  Then we got teased by the appearance of future Hiro.  Remember the badass with the sword and the soul patch who could actually speak English?  After seeing future Hiro that’s what we thought we would get one day.  Instead we continued to see the immature outmatched Hiro from week to week.  The character never grew despite the potential future that had been setup for him.

Despite all my reservations I stuck with Heroes until the end of this season and I was one of a dwindling group.  This series premiered having 14 million viewers a week and peaked out at 19 million.  Now, in its 4th season, the show barely drags in 3-4 million a week.  Something obviously went wrong.  At the end of last year Heroes was renewed and Chuck was on the verge of cancellation.  NBC thought the smart move was to keep Heroes and only kept Chuck due to fan outrage/support.  Look at things now, Chuck is NBC’s best rated show on Monday nights and Heroes is drawing worse ratings that Chuck did even in a slump.

I was tempted to give up on Heroes this year, I really was but I kept hoping for things to get better again.  Sadly I was disappointed.  If I had to describe season 4 in one word it would be this: BORING.  Nothing really happened except for people talking.  I think that even if Heroes does come back for a 5th season I’m done with the show.  They’ve had their chance to realize their potential and haven’t been able to do it for the last 3 years.  Looks like I’m down to one show on NBC now!

6 responses to “How Heroes Failed Me

  1. Tom Baker February 12, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    Sylar represents NBC’s thinking and their ratings. Up and down, up and down. Heroes hasn’t been the same since season one. I thought I finally found a great sci-fi fantasy show that didn’t cost the network and arm and a leg and would have staying power. Like everyone else I am disappointed. Cancel it and take it and me out of our misery OR let Chris and I breathe some new life into. Hire us NBC and lets turn your zeros into heroes again.!

  2. Pingback: The Year in Review Part 1 « Nerds of the Round Table

  3. Alive aLwaYs May 18, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    Heroes was over for me after season 3.
    There was a brilliant series, FlashForward, I don’t understand why they canceled it. It sucks how ratings kill better serials, just because expected viewership and actual viewership differ.

    • Chris May 19, 2011 at 9:10 am

      If I was smart i would have quit on Heroes. However, I just kept hoping it would get good again.

      As for Flash Forward I never watched it. I recorded the 1st couple of episodes on my DVR but ended up deleting them. Probably good I did so I wasn’t invested in Flash Forward when it was cancelled.

  4. fores trading October 15, 2011 at 12:30 am

    You’r completely correct with this blog post

Leave a Reply

