Nerds of the Round Table

For all things good and nerdy

I Finally Watched Caprica

You would think that a rabid Battlestar Galactica fan like myself would have watched Caprica the day it released on DVD.  To be honest, I had every intention to, I even bought the DVD the day it released.  But then I had second thoughts.  I kept wondering if this prequel was going to ruin the series I’d come to love.  Basically I was worried about a Phantom Menace situation.  And to be honest after the end of BSG I was thinking that Caprica was a cash grab intended to cash in on the BSG fanbase’s want for more stories.

When Caprica was first announced as a new show on the SciFi Syfy channel I was disappointed.  My hope was that any BSG prequel would be about the first Cylon war and would center around a young Bill Adama and Saul Tigh as they tried to survive.  Just imagine the flashbacks from Razor turned into a series.  That would have been brilliant.  I wanted more darkness and warfare like we saw in BSG.  Imagine my disappoint when I hear the BSG prequel was going to be a drama centered around the Adama and Greystone families.  And did I forget to mention William Adama, my favorite BSG character, is only an 11-year-old boy in this series.  What the frak?  A dramatic show without the war backdrop?  Lets put it this way, I was wrong.

I’m not going to get into spoilers or any plot details in this post, but lets put it this way I was very pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed the first two hours of Caprica.  It started out slow but started to put all the pieces together to be a very long and involved story.  Caprica is set 58 years before the fall of the colonies, in other words 58 years before the BSG mini-series.

To put things very simply an act of terrorism sets in place the things that will lead to the end of humanity as seen in BSG.  This one-act leads to the creation of the Cylons.

There are lots of  lines that might seem insignificant to some, but if you watched BSG you’re going to take pause and realize just how significant these ‘throw-away’ lines might be.  This is highlight to read just so as not to ruin one of the significant parts I liked.  Pay particular attention to a repeated mention of a singular God and compare that to the mostly polytheistic view of the Gods as presented in BSG.  By the end of the first episodes the first Cylon will be shown on-screen and utter its first ‘By your command.’  I’m not going to give anymore plot information because I’d hate to ruin the show for anyone.  It’s obviously going to be very plot and character driven so any spoilerage by me would be unacceptable.

If you liked BSG, definitely check out Caprica.  You won’t regret it!  If you like SciFi shows with a good plot and twists and turns check out Caprica.  And if you really like Caprica make sure to watch BSG too.  Also, SciFi Syfy Channel has put the first 2 hours of Caprica online for viewing.  If you don’t have the DVD and can’t hold out til Friday check it out on their site.  And if you’re unsure on Caprica check out the promo below.  Eagle eyed watchers might notice James Marsters (Spike from Buffy) in this one!

3 responses to “I Finally Watched Caprica

  1. mendie January 21, 2010 at 12:04 am

    Unfortunately I must respectfully disagree with you on the topic of Caprica. I too waited patiently for the pilot/made for tv movie to come out and also like you I ended up waiting a couple of months to watch it, not because I was having doubts but because a fellow geek girl would have meen pissed if I saw it without her. But for some reason as I watched the movie I found myself to be quite bored with the whole this is how they were created plot. Seeing as we all know that it wasn’t the human variety that were created but the walking chrome toasters. Of course putting all that aside I will of course be watching the series. I mean what is a BSG fanatic to do?

    • Chris January 21, 2010 at 9:39 pm

      I admit the movie did have boring parts. Maybe I just want new BSG so bad I’m willing to accept a highly plot driven drama about the birth of the Cylons.

      I have to watch now or lose all my nerd credibility haha.

  2. Pingback: Caprica Premieres Tonight « Nerds of the Round Table

Leave a Reply

