Nerds of the Round Table

For all things good and nerdy

BSG Season 4 Soundtrack

BSG4FrontCover

I readily admit that I am a huge fan of BSG.  One of the things I’ve not talked about on this blog is the music of Battlestar Galactica.  If you’ve watched the show you’re sure to have noticed how well the music ties everything together.  Not to mention the fact, that the music is incredibly good.  The score to BSG has always been a pleasure to listen to, and in fact I own the soundtrack to all 4 seasons.

Bear McCreary has become one of my favorite composers, mostly because the music he creates is so unique and always has such a unique flair to it.  If you don’t believe me just check out some of his work.  One of the best, is his cover of Bob Dylan’s amazing All Along the Watchtower which is up to listen to on his site and the provided YouTube link.  Some other tracks off the BSG soundtracks to check out would be Wander My Friends which makes incredible use out of the bagpipes and the Adama/Roslin theme that runs throughout the show.

I got my 4th Season soundtrack on Wednesday, and I think I’ve listened to the 2 disc set at least 4 times.  Keep in mind I can’t take CDs or MP3s to work, because if I could those numbers would be a lot larger.  Whats really cool for this soundtrack is that disc 1 covers all the episodes from season 4 with the exception of the roughly 2.5 hour long finale.  Disc 2 is dedicated entirely to the music taken from Daybreak Parts 1-3.

Quite possibly my favorite track of the entire CD set is track 10 called The Heart of the Sun.  If you’ve seen the finale you know exactly what scene this is.  I’ve provided a YouTube link to the scene, but don’t click it if you have not seen the finale of BSG, seriously if you click that link you will be incredibly spoiled about the end of the show.  What is quite possibly my favorite part of this track is how McCreary weaves in parts of songs from the entire series and then pulls in the original Battlestar Galactica theme.

What is also really cool is that McCreary has kept an incredibly detailed blog regarding his scripting and recording process for all the music that has been on Battlestar Galactica.  There is a very indepth piece on all the track that went onto the BSG Season 4 soundtrack and that can readily be found on Bear McCreary’s blog.  This article is really worth checking out, if only to see the wide variety of instruments that were used to bring this music to life.  Additionally it links the each episode and the music contained within.  Really good read I promise.

I wish I could tell you to download a couple tracks of iTunes or the Amazon mp3 store to see if you like them, but none of those stores carry any of the BSG music.  I encourage people to listen to some of the music on Bear’s site, and if you like it buy it, its really good.

Via: Bear’s Battlestar Blog

Update: One of the other great pieces from BSG is the theme used for the Adamas, both Lee and Bill.  Below is the video from the live BSG concert that took place a while back showcasing a hybrid of the Adama themes.  I wish I could have been there for that.

Leave a Reply

