Nerds of the Round Table

For all things good and nerdy

SyFy Channel, What the Frak?

SciFi vs. SyFy

SciFi vs. SyFy

I know I’m late to jump on this bandwagon, but does anyone else think the rebranding of the SciFi channel to SciFi is absolutely idiotic?  On June 7, the SciFi channel will cease to exist and instead become the SyFy channel?  It sounds exactly how it looks, it seems to me the company is choosing a new name so that they can trademark it.  If that were the case maybe I wouldn’t be so annoyed by it.  I’m used to SciFi doing dumb things.  Examples of that being cancelling Stargate SG-1, Stargate Atlantis, and Farscape.  So, I’m really not shocked that a new name change, which I think is stupid, would happen.

Greg Dean, the writer/artist of RealLife comics put up a pretty good comic regarding this switch.  If even half of the what is depicted was actually said by a SciFi exec they might really want to consider firing him.  It makes horrible business sense to alienate your loyal fans as you undergo a rebranding effort.

RealLife Take on SciFi/SyFy

RealLife Take on SciFi/SyFy

EDIT: The quote referenced in the comic is as follows:

“The name Sci Fi has been associated with geeks and dysfunctional, antisocial boys in their basements with video games and stuff like that, as opposed to the general public and the female audience in particular,” said TV historian Tim Brooks, who helped launch Sci Fi Channel when he worked at USA Network.

I stand corrected, a current SciFi exec did not make such a strong statement, just a former one who ran the network when it was true to its SciFi roots.

I think SciFi channel lost its way once it started showing pro-wrestling.  Don’t get me wrong I was a fan of pro-wrestling and still occasionally watch it, but it really never fit in on the SciFi channel.  Part of my thinks this rebranding is a way for the SciFi channel to move away from its conventional programming.  It seems like the execs have been doing that for a while.  They’ve phased out most of the programming I like.  I was never a Eureka fan although I’ve heard it was good.  Without Stargate Atlantis and Battlestar Galactica, I’m really not too interested in watching any of their programming.  I probably haven’t flipped to SciFI since the BSG finale.  Now, I admit I will give the new SyFy channel a try, but only for Battlestar Galactica: The Plan and Stargate Universe, none of the other programming interests me.  Good look SciFi execs, hopefully you haven’t alienated too many of your fans.

I’m not the only one that’s miffed/angered about the transition.  There’s a lot of opinions being given on the internet, and in one of my favorite mediums, webcomics and parodies.  I’ve put a couple other images after the jump.

SciFi/SyFy Webcomic

SciFi/SyFy Webcomic

Starbuck Does Not Like

Starbuck Does Not Like

Leave a Reply

